Ape House

Ape House by Sara Gruen

Aside from my own personal bitterness of having the married couple in the novel’s names be John and Amanda (the name of my ex-boyfriend who I’m still not over and of course, my own name), the story was engaging from page one. The opening chapters were so well written that I was sucked into the story and could not put it down for hours. I am an animal love but I’ve never been the type of person to call themselves an Animal Advocate. So the extremity of the protestors outside of their center was nauseating but it was an immediate reaction to the words Gruen so eloquently put together. The main character, Isabel Duncan, her story brought me to tears. I never saw the resolution of this story coming. It was a refreshing slap in the face. I love when novels are written in two parts at first and then come together to fuel the story. There is a romance aspect to the story but I didn’t feel overwhelmed and annoyed with it. I’m currently in post-breakup recovery mode so all of the lovey-doveyness of other novels quickly prompted me to put them down. But Ape House is different. I actually enjoyed Amanda and John’s story. Good read.

Next: Riding Lessons by Sara Gruen


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

